Home » Society » Awards in Australia » Walkley Awards

Walkley Awards

Walkley Awards


The Walkley Annual Award is named after Sir William Walkley who founded Ampol Petroleum Ltd. In 1956, Walkley awards started with five categories. Later, after Sir William Walkley passed away the Awards was handled by the Australian Journalists’ Association. It was later merged with the Media, Entertainment and Arts Alliance in 1992. Finally in the year 2000, the Alliance established the Walkley Foundation and later combined it with the Nikon Press Photographer of the year Awards.

Walkley Annual Awards is awarded to individuals or groups to recognize excellence in the field of journalism. It is the Australian Equivalent of the Pulitzer Prize. The jury contains eminent journalists and photographers under the administration of Walkley Foundation for Journalism.

The Award is presented to all journalistic works, except the non-fiction book category, published by the Australian based media organizations. The judging for the Awards is based on a two tier system developed on the lines of the Pulitzer Prize. There are various categories and sub categories under which the prize is award—some of the categories are—General, Print, Radio, Television and All Media Category.

In the general Category there are mainly three prestigious awards—Gold Walkley Awards, Journalism Leadership awards, and Nikon Walkley Press Photographer of the Year Award. The entries are chosen and evaluated on the basis of their newsworthiness, originality, research, impact, ethics, and other relevant criteria as applicable to them. More recently the Walkley Awards also recognizes Australian freelancing journalists.

Eligibility Criteria

The idea of Walkley Awards is established on “independent acts of journalism. Following are the eligibility criteria for Walkley Awards:

  • Open to Australian citizens or permanent residents
  • The applicants work must have been published or issued in Australia on any media platform.
  • Australian journalists who work as freelancers and have self-published their content in blogs are eligible

Types Of Visas

Immigration Info

Australian History

Facebook Twitter