Home » Society » Awards in Australia » Australian Tourism Awards

Australian Tourism Awards

Australian Tourism Awards

Australia celebrated 29th´┐ŻAustralian Tourism awards in 2013. Tourism industry is a backbone to economy in Australia. Tourism awards of Australia signify the excellent and best recognized tourism services of Australian tourism industry. In 1985 Federal Government of Australia has first established these awards and at present this is undertaken by National Tourism alliance of Australia. These awards excellence in tourism of Australia not only mark their recognition in Australian tourism industry but also in the consumers.

Incase if any entrant has been winner for three consecutive years in same category then they will be awarded with famous Hall of Fame Trophy.

State Wise Tourism Awards:

To participate in Australian tourism awards program it is required to first take part in state or territory award program by selecting your state or territory. Following are the list of state and territory tourism award programs:

  • Australian Capital Territory presents “CANBERRA AND CAPITAL TOURISM AWARDS”
  • New South Wales presents “NSW TOURISM AWARDS”
  • Queensland presents “QUEENSLAND TOURISM AWARDS”
  • South Australia presents “SOUTH AUSTRALIAN TOURISM AWARDS”
  • Tasmania presents “TASMANIAN TOURISM AWARDS”
  • Victoria presents “RACV VICTORIAN´┐Ż TOURISM AWARDS”


There are total of 27 categories national wide in Australian tourism awards and are mentioned below:

  • Major Tourist Attractions
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Major Festivals and Events
  • Festivals and Events
  • Ecotourism
  • Heritage and Cultural Tourism
  • Indigenous Tourism
  • Specialized Tourism Services
  • Visitor Information Services
  • Meetings and Business Tourism
  • Major Tour and/or Transport Operators
  • Tour and/or Transport Operators
  • Adventure Tourism
  • Tourism Marketing
  • Tourism Education & Training
  • Tourism Restaurants & Catering Services
  • Tourism Wineries, Distilleries & Boutique Breweries
  • Tourist & Caravan Parks
  • Backpacker Accommodation
  • Hosted Accommodation
  • Unique Accommodation
  • Standard Accommodation
  • Deluxe Accommodation
  • Luxury Accommodation
  • New Tourism Development
  • Qantas Award for Excellence in Sustainable Tourism
  • Outstanding Contribution by an Individual (National)

Process of Judging:

Australian tourism awards judging process goes in a unique process comprising a panel of 27 judges, who are experts in tourism industry and well-known for their knowledge as well as experience. These 27 judges are selected as 3 judges from each state or territory and other 3 independent judges are appointed by National Alliance of Tourism in Australia. These judges provide professional as well as qualified services and will act according to independent capacity in taking judging decisions.

Types Of Visas

Immigration Info

Australian History

Facebook Twitter