Home » Society » Australian History » Australia Time Zones

Australia Time Zones

Australia Time Zones

Australia is divided into Three Separate Time Zones:

Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST)

  • Queensland
  • New South Wales
  • Victoria,
  • Tasmania
  • Australian Capital Territory

Time Zone for AEST is : Universal Time plus 10 hours (UTC +10).

Australian Central Standard Time (ACST)

  • South Australia
  • New South Wales
  • Northern Territory

Time Zone for ACST is : Universal Time plus 91/2 hours (UTC +91/2).

Australian Western Standard Time (AWST)

Western Australia

Time Zone for AWST is : Universal Time plus 8 hours (UTC +8).

Daylight Saving Time in Summer

Forward to one hour in the below states from first Sunday in October and ends on the first Sunday in April.

  • New South Wales
  • Victoria
  • South Australia
  • Tasmania
  • ACT

Daylight saving is not observed in Queensland, Northern Territory or Western Australia

Time Zones in Australia

Abbreviation Full name Time zone
ACDT Australian Central Daylight Time UTC + 10:30 hours
ACST Australian Central Standard Time UTC + 9:30 hours
CXT Christmas Island Time UTC + 7 hours
AEDT Australian Eastern Daylight Time UTC + 11 hours
AEST Australian Eastern Standard Time UTC + 10 hours
LHDT Lord Howe Daylight Time UTC + 11 hours
LHST Lord Howe Standard Time UTC + 10:30 hours
NFT Norfolk Time UTC + 11:30 hours
AWDT Australian Western Daylight Time UTC + 9 hours
AWST Australian Western Standard Time UTC + 8 hours

Types Of Visas

Immigration Info

Australian History

Facebook Twitter