Home » Society » Australian Universities » University of Western Australia

University of Western Australia

University of Western Australia


The University of Western Australia (UWA), the oldest university in the state of Western Australia was established in 1911 by an act of the Western Australian Parliament. Proper academic functioning of the university began in 1913. Initial intake was 184 students. Currently it is home to more than 24000 students from all over the world.

It is the only Western Australian University to be part of the Group of Eight and the sandstone universities. Professor Paul Johnson is the present Vice-Chancellor. The university is associated with 99 Rhodes Scholars and a Nobel laureate. It is the youngest university to be part of the Matariki Network of Universities. ´┐ŻUWA is also a member of Elite Athlete Friendly University (EAFU) network.


The University of Western Australia has three campuses. The main campus of the University of Western Australia is in the suburb of Crawley and the other two are at Claremont and Albany.


UWA is ranked among the best comprehensive universities in Australia. UWA’s undergraduate study program is ranked 2nd in Australia. The university was ranked 79th in the world by the QS World University Rankings in 2011. UWA is ranked 91st by the Shanghai Jiao-Tong University Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU).


Academic divisions within UWA include nine faculties that cover over 125 areas of study. The University of Western Australia offers bachelor of philosophy and post graduate courses. "Assured Pathways" at the university is meant for those with high academic achievements. Those who get enrolled in this program will be assured a place in the postgraduate degree. The university hosts industry-based research centres and institutes as well.


UWA offers undergraduate, postgraduate and international scholarships to assist the students achieve their goal.

Types Of Visas

Immigration Info

Australian History

Facebook Twitter