Home » Society » Public Holidays » Tasmania Public Holidays

Tasmania Public Holidays

Tasmania Public Holidays

Tasmania, named after Dutch explorer Abel Tasman, is an island state and a part of the Commonwealth of Australia. As of June 2010, the island of Tasmania has a population of about half a million. From 1856 to 1901, it was a British colony; it became federated to become a part of the Commonwealth of Australia in 1901. The island of Tasmania has 29 local government regions. Since the year 1901, this region has been a part of the Commonwealth of Australia, and is regulated by the constitution of Australia, which prescribes the powers for each level of government.

Like all other Australian states, Tasmania independently proclaims all other public holidays for instance Labour Day, Agricultural Show day, and Queen’s Birthday etc. Apart from the aforementioned public holidays, each Sunday is supposedly a public holiday and bank holiday in South Australia.

The ten public holidays to be observed in Tasmania are Australia Day, New Years Day, Good Friday, Eight Hours Day, Easter Monday, Queen’s Birthday, Anzac Day, Boxing Day, Christmas Day, Recreation Day (North), and Royal Hobart Regatta (South).

The Statutory Holidays Act 2000 decides the days on which these days will occur. However, it does not present a person with the right to take work off on that day - that is arrived at, from your agreement or grant.

Easter Tuesday is a limited public holiday presently observed by some agreements/awards and also by the Tasmanian State Service. If you are operational in the private sector and are uncertain about whether your agreement or award offers a salaried day off on Easter Tuesday then you can call the Fair Work Infoline for a clarification. Tasmanian inhabitants also get a Show Day as a public holiday. Launceston Cup and Devonport days are usually only public service holidays.

Tasmania Public Holidays Dates 2013 - 2015

The Following is a List of Public Holidays from 2013:2015 in Tasmania

Holiday 2013 2014 2015
New Year's Day Tuesday, 1 January Wednesday, 1 January Thursday, 1 January
Australia Day Monday, 28 January Monday, 27 January Monday, 26 January
Royal Hobart Regatta Monday, 11 February Monday, 10 February Monday, 9 February
Eight Hours Day Monday, 11 March Monday, 10 March Monday, 11 March
Good Friday Friday, 29 March Friday, 18 April Friday, 3 April
Easter Monday Monday, 1 April Monday, 21 April Monday, 6 April
Easter Tuesday Tuesday, 2 April Tuesday, 22 April Tuesday, 7 April
Anzac Day Thursday, 25 April Friday, 25 April Saturday, 25 April
Queen's Birthday Monday, 10 June Monday, 9 June Monday, 8 June
Recreation Day Monday, 4 November Monday, 3 November Monday, 2 November
Christmas Day Wednesday, 25 December Thursday, 25 December Friday, 25 December
Boxing Day Thursday, 26 December Friday, 26 December Saturday, 26 December Monday, 28 December

Types Of Visas

Immigration Info

Australian History

Facebook Twitter