Home » Society » Australian Universities » Griffith University

Griffith University


Griffith University, an internationally recognized public research university in southeastern Queensland established in 1971 was listed among the top 4% of institutions in the world in the Times HES – QS World Ranking-2008.

Griffith University, officially opened in 1975 was named after Sir Samuel Griffith, the first Chief Justice of Australia, a former Premier and Chief Justice of Queensland. Griffith hosts more than 43,000 students from all over the world. Griffith is IRU Australia’s (Innovative Research Universities Australia) founding member.

Academic programs:

Griffin offers undergraduate, postgraduate and research degrees. It is the first Australian university to offer degrees in Environmental science and Asian studies.

The academic divisions within Griffith University include Arts, Languages & Criminology, Business, Education, Engineering & Information Technology, Environment, Planning & Architecture, Health, Law, Music, Science, and Visual & Creative Arts. Hospitality and Tourism courses offered at Griffith are popular with study abroad students.


Griffith’s main campus is situated on the beautiful Gold Coast. The remaining four campuses are at Logan City, Nathan, South Bank and in the Brisbane suburbs of Mount Gravatt. The founding campus of the University at Nathan was designed by Robin Gibson, a prominent Australian architect.


  • Griffith University is placed 12th among the 29 universities in Australia in 2013 rankings of the Australian Education Network.
  • Griffith is placed among the top 368 universities of the world in the QS World University Rankings.
  • Griffith Business School has AACSB International (Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business) accreditation which places it among the top 5% of business schools in the world.
  • Good Universities Guide ranked Griffith Law School as No.1 in Australia twice; in 2005 and 2006.  
  • Apart from the five-star accreditation from Graduate Management Association of Australia, the Griffith MBA also received 2013 Green Gown Award.


Griffith University has over 600 wide range of scholarships worth more than $4 million to assist both commencing and current students.

Types Of Visas

Immigration Info

Australian History

Facebook Twitter