Home » Society » Australian Universities » Curtin University of Technology

Curtin University of Technology


Curtin University, formerly known as the Western Australian Institute of Technology (WAIT) is located in Perth, Western Australia. The Western Australian Institute of Technology (WAIT), established in 1966 was made a university in 1986. It was named after John Curtin, former Prime Minister of Australia. Colin Beckett is the present chancellor and Professor Deborah Terry, Vice-chancellor. Prominent faculty members at Curtin include environmental scientist Peter Newman and writer Kim Scott and post-modernist Niall Lucy.


Curtin is the largest university in Western Australia, hosting more than 50,000 students. Curtin is the second Western Australian University to be ranked in the prestigious Shanghai Jiao Tong Annual Ranking of World Universities in 2011. 2011-12 QS World University Rankings placed Curtin within the top 300 universities in the world. As per the Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) World University Rankings in 2011 Chemical Engineering program offered at Curtin was ranked amongst the world’s best 100. Curtin's Graduate School of Business's MBA programmes also received global recognition and was ranked 58th in the world by the Economist magazine.


The main campus of Curtin is at Bentley. Curtin has campuses at Perth city, Kalgoorlie, Margaret River and at Shenton Park. ´┐ŻApart from these campuses regional centres in Albany, Armadale, Esperance, Geraldton, Karratha, Midland and Port Hedland offer selected courses in humanities and business. It also has campuses beyond Western Australia; in Sydney, Malaysia and Singapore.

Academic programs:

Academic divisions within Curtin University include,

  • Centre for Aboriginal Studies
  • Curtin Business School
  • Health Sciences
  • Humanities
  • Science and Engineering

Research activities at Curtin are focused on areas including Minerals and energy, ICT and emerging technologies, Health and Sustainable development.


Curtin has provisions of scholarships to reward academic excellence, research and to assist students from different backgrounds in their higher education. The Financial Support Bursary, formerly known as Financial Support Grant is going to open at Curtin soon.

Types Of Visas

Immigration Info

Australian History

Facebook Twitter