Home » Society » Australian Universities » La Trobe University

La Trobe University

La Trobe University is the third university in the state of Victoria in Australia. La Trobe University’s main campus is found in Bundoora, a suburb in Melbourne. The university offers wide range of courses including Education, Business, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities, Technology, Engineering, Law, and Economics.

Because of strong belief that it was important to increase learning and research in the state of Victoria, prominent people were the ones who supported the establishment of La Trobe University. Davis McCaughey, who later became Governor of Victoria, was one of the big personalities who were involved in the establishment of the university. La Trobe University got its name from Charles Joseph La Trobe, Victoria’s first governor. The university’s motto “whoever seeks shall find” was Charles Joseph La Trobe’s motto.

In 2004, The Times Higher Education World University Rankings ranked La Trobe University as 142nd in the world’s top universities and 13th in Australia. In 2005, it raised its rank and placed on the 98th spot of the world’s top universities, and in Australia, it moved upto the 11th place. It made to the 23rd place in the world’s top Arts and Humanities universities, and 3rd among Australian universities. It placed 68th in the word’s top Social Sciences universities, and 9th among Australian universities. In 2012, Australian Research Council's Excellence in Research for Australia gave La Trobe University a ranking of 3.

At present, La Trobe University offers undergraduate and postgraduate courses, and remains to be strong in its arts and humanities courses. Apart from the main campus, La Trobe University also has campuses in Bendigo and Albury-Wodonga, and several small campuses are found in Beechworth, Mildura and Shepparton.

Types Of Visas

Immigration Info

Australian History

Facebook Twitter