Home » Society » Australian Universities » The University of Adelaide

The University of Adelaide


The University of Adelaide, a public university based in Adelaide, South Australia was established in 1874. It is part of the Group of Eight and the sandstone universities. Adelaide University is listed third among the oldest universities of Australia. It boasts five Nobel laureates and 104 Rhodes scholars. Professor Warren Bebbington is the current Vice- chancellor of the University of Adelaide. It hosts over 20,000 students. The university plays a key role in Australian higher education and research. "Smoke-Free Policy" was implemented at Adelaide on 2 July 2010. It is a popular research-intensive university in Australia. Research activities at Adelaide are spread over a wide range of areas including agriculture, health sciences and engineering. Adelaide University also offers Masters programmes in Marine Engineering, in collaboration with University of South Australia.


As per the 2011 QS World University Rankings University of Adelaide was placed 92nd and in 2012 it was placed 102nd among the top 300 universities in the world.


Adelaide University has five campuses, of which the main campus is on North Terrace in the Adelaide city centre. The remaining four are

  • Roseworthy College at Roseworthy
  • Waite Campus at Urrbrae
  • National Wine Centre of Australia at Adelaide Park Lands
  • The Research Park in Thebarton

It also has a sixth campus beyond South Australia, in Singapore.


The academic divisions within the University of Adelaide include,

  • Faculty of Engineering, Computer & Mathematical Sciences
  • Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences
  • Faculty of the Professions
  • Faculty of Sciences


University of Adelaide offers undergraduate and postgraduate scholarships. It also has provisions of Honours Scholarships to assist those who undertake Honours programs.

Types Of Visas

Immigration Info

Australian History

Facebook Twitter