Home » Society » Australian Universities » Edith Cowan University

Edith Cowan University


Edith Cowan University (ECU), an Australian public university centred in Perth, Western Australia is the only university in Australia to be named after a woman. Edith Cowan was the first woman to enter the Australian Parliament. ECU was established in 1991 followed by the amalgamation of teachers' colleges, history of which can be traced back to 1902. ECU has over 20,000 students enrolled in undergraduate and postgraduate programs. Kerry O. Cox is the current Vice-Chancellor of ECU.


Four faculties within ECU are

  • Faculty of Business and Law
  • Faculty of Health, Engineering and Science
  • Faculty of Education and Arts
  • The Faculty of Regional Professional Studies

Research centres within ECU focus on areas including Health and Wellness; Education; Environment and Sustainability; Electronic Engineering and ICT; Social and Community; Business and Society; Communications and Creative Arts; and Security, Law and Justice.


ECU has two metropolitan campuses and one regional campus. ECU is headquartered at Joondalup Campus

  • Joondalup Campus
  • Mount Lawley Campus
  • South West Campus (at Bunbury)

ECU offers Bachelor, Master, Doctoral and Associate Degrees in a variety of subject areas.


As per the 2008 national Graduate Destination Survey 84.7% of ECU's domestic Bachelor level graduates got full-time job. In 2010 January, Webometrics ranked ECU’s Faculty of Business and Law ninth nationally. MBA programme at ECU received five star rating in the same year by Graduate Management Association of Australia.


ECU provides a variety of scholarships to assist the students realize their goal. The available scholarships at ECU include financial hardship scholarships, indigenous student scholarships, rural student support scholarships, academic scholarships, disability scholarships and scholarships for international Students.

Types Of Visas

Immigration Info

Australian History

Facebook Twitter