Home » Society » Public Holidays » New South Wales Public Holidays

New South Wales Public Holidays

New South Wales Public Holidays

New South Wales (NSW) has a couple of standard holidays that give families and friends time to go out and have fun. In this article, we are going to look at the standard holidays that are observed in NSW.

  • New Year's Day: It is celebrated annually on the 1st of January. Most city residents are keen on this day that they start their celebration as early as 31st December. Their celebrations are usually colored by festivities and heavy fireworks at midnight as a typical sign of welcoming the New Year. One important aspect to note is that if this holiday happens to fall on Saturday or Sunday, the Monday that follows becomes a public holiday. Shops are kept open during this day as people celebrate.
  • Australia Day: This is a national holiday that is celebrated annually on 26th January. This holiday is dedicated in the celebrating of the 1788‘s First Feet arrival; 11 ships that sailed into Australia from England to establish a colony. The celebrations are characterized by Year awards, honors and a perfect time for citizenship celebrations to those who succeed becoming Australian citizens.
  • Anzac Day: It is a national holiday celebrated on the 25th of April to recognize and commemorate those who have served Australia in battlefields and lost their lives.
  • Queens’s Birthday: Celebrated annually on the second Monday of June. It is a national Public holiday for recognition of British Monarch’s birthday Shops are open as usual during this day.
  • Labor Day: It is a national public holiday observed annually on the first Monday of October to celebrate the progress achieved by the Australian Labor Movement.
  • Christmas Day: It is celebrated on the 25th of December to commemorate the birth of Jesus. It is listed as one of the national public holidays in NSW. In case it falls on a Saturday, a public holiday is declared on a Monday. On the hand if it falls on Sunday, another public holiday is declared on Tuesday. This is one of the few national holidays in NSW when shopping is restricted.
  • Boxing Day: It is observed on the 26th of December. If it falls on a Saturday, the following Monday becomes another public holiday. If it occurs on Sunday, the immediate Tuesday becomes a public holiday. Shopping is also restricted during Boxing Day.

These are the main public holidays observed in the New South Wales.

New South Wales Public Holiday Dates 2013 - 2015

Holidays Name 2013 2014 2015
New Year's Day Tuesday, 1 January Wednesday, 1 January Thursday, 1 January
**Australia Day Monday, 28 January Monday, 27 January Monday, 26 January
Good Friday Friday, 29 March Friday, 18 April Friday, 3 April
Easter Saturday Saturday, 30 March Saturday, 19 April Saturday, 4 April
Easter Sunday Sunday, 31 March Sunday, 20 April Sunday, 5 April
Easter Monday Monday, 1 April Monday, 21 April Monday, 6 April
Anzac Day Thursday, 25 April Friday, 25 April Saturday, 25 April
Queen's Birthday Monday, 10 June Monday, 9 June Monday, 8 June
*Bank Holiday Monday, 5 August Monday, 4 August Monday, 3 August
Labour Day Monday, 7 October Monday, 6 October Monday, 5 October
Christmas Day Wednesday, 25 December Thursday, 25 December Friday, 25 December
Boxing Day Thursday, 26 December Friday, 26 December Saturday, 26 December
Additional Day     Monday, 28 December

Types Of Visas

Immigration Info

Australian History

Facebook Twitter