Home » Society » Australian Government Structure » Department of Defence

Department of Defence

Department of Defence
Formed 14 April 1942
Preceding agencies Department of Defence Co-ordination Department of Information
Jurisdiction Commonwealth of Australia
Headquarters Canberra
Employees 65,647
Annual budget A$27.371 billion (2013/2014)
Ministers responsible David Johnston, Minister for Defence Michael Ronaldson, Minister for Veterans' Affairs Stuart Robert, Assistant Minister for Defence Darren Chester, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Defence
Department executives Dennis Richardson, Secretary of the Department of Defence (SECDEF) Dr Alex Zelinsky, Chief Defence Scientist Phillip Prior, Chief Finance Officer Dr Peter Lawrence, Chief Information Officer Steve Grzeskowiak, Deputy Secretary, Defence Support and Reform Steve Meekin, Deputy Secretary, Intelligence and Security Brendan Sargeant, Deputy Secretary, Strategy Carmel McGregor, Deputy Secretary, Defence People
Parent Department Australian Defence Organisation (ADO)
Child agencies Defence Materiel Organisation (DMO) Defence Science and Technology Organisation (DSTO) Defence Signals Directorate (DSD) Defence Intelligence Group Defence Housing Australia Army & Air Force Canteen Service Army Amenities Fund
Website www.defence.gov.au

Types Of Visas

Immigration Info

Australian History

Facebook Twitter