Home » Society » Australian Government Structure

Australian Government Structure

Australian Government is called with different names such as Government of Commonwealth of Australia, Her Majesty’s Government, Commonwealth Government or Federal Government. It is founded in liberal democratic tradition which has federal democratic system of administration. Democracy of Australia was created in 1901 after the agreement for federation by former British Colonies which are now six states.

Australian Government is controlled by three-interconnected systems of government which are Legislature, Executive and Judiciary.


Australian Legislature will undertake and supervise Laws in an appropriate way. Legislature of Australia is controlled by Parliament. Australian Parliament consists of Queen of Australia along with 76 membered Senate and 150 membered House of representatives. In Australia work of Legislature is to propose laws in the form of bills and also provide legislative framework in operating other two systems of government.


Australian Executive position known as Head of The State is managed by Governor General of Australia as well as Queen of Australia. Head of The State has the responsibility to control Ministry as well as Government Departments. Following will be list of ministers under Ministry:

  • Prime Minister
  • Deputy Prime Minister
  • Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development
  • Minister for Foreign Affairs
  • Minister for Employment
  • Attorney-General
  • Minister for the Arts
  • Treasurer
  • Minister for Agriculture
  • Minister for Education
  • Minister for Indigenous Affairs
  • Minister for Industry
  • Minister for Social Services
  • Minister for Communications
  • Minister for Health
  • Minister for Sport
  • Minister for Trade and Investment
  • Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
  • Minister for Defence
  • Minister for Environment
  • Minister for Immigration and Border Protection
  • Minister for Finance

While following are the 18 Government Departments:

  • Attorney-General's Department
  • Department of Agriculture
  • Department of Communications
  • Department of Defence
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Employment
  • Department of Social Services
  • Department of Finance and Deregulation
  • Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
  • Department of Health
  • Department of Human Services
  • Department of Immigration and Border Protection
  • Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development
  • Department of Industry
  • Department of Environment
  • Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
  • Department of Veterans' Affairs
  • Parliament of Australia
  • The Treasury


Australian Judiciary is another system of Australian Government where it needs to manage High Court as well as Other Federal Courts. It will be interpreting laws only if there are explanatory statements which are to be made during enactment in Legislature also it will use law basis which are enacted. Following are the courts that are undertaken Judiciary system in Government of Australia:

  • High Court of Australia
  • Federal Court of Australia
  • Family Court of Australia
  • Federal Magistrates Court

Types Of Visas

Immigration Info

Australian History

Facebook Twitter