Home » Society » Public Holidays » Queensland Public Holidays

Queensland Public Holidays

 

Queensland Public Holidays

In Australia, public holidays can be either public or state based. In case any public holiday falls on a weekend, the states have full authority to decide whether to substitute it with another day. As in several other parts of the globe, in Australia, the summer season is the most luxuriant time for public holidays. Starting from the New Years Day through to Christmas Day, people can even have a ten-day break with barely one or two days of their annual leave being affected.

In Australia, workers have struggled for and won a series of significant holiday and leave entitlements that are amongst the finest in the world. In recent time unions have effectively safeguarded public holiday pay and paid annual leave of four weeks from being curtailed under the former unwarranted WorkChoices laws of the Howard Government.

The second largest state in Australia is Queensland; it has a population of about 4.5 million. It is situated in the north eastern region of the country. The state presents a remarkable collection of varied experiences throughout its numerous regions.

Every Queensland looks forward to Queensland public holidays. It provides them with a chance to get out with their kids, hopping, and enjoying the company of each other. Since Australia is a constituent of the Commonwealth of Nations, The Queen's Birthday is celebrated as a public holiday here, with the sovereign of the United Kingdom being considered the monarch. The day is celebrated on the second Monday of June in a major part of Australia. Post offices, schools, and other institutions are closed on this date in most parts of Australia. Many stores also have restricted opening hours on the day.

Queensland Public Holidays Dates 2013 - 2015

The Following is a List of Public Holidays in Queensland from the year 2013:2015.

Holiday 2013 2014 2015
New Year's Day Tuesday, 1 January Wednesday, 1 January Thursday, 1 January
Australia Day Monday, 28 January Monday, 27 January Monday, 26 January
Good Friday Friday, 29 March Friday, 18 April Friday, 3 April
Easter Saturday Saturday, 30 March Saturday, 19 April Saturday, 4 April
Easter Monday Monday, 1 April Monday, 21 April Monday, 6 April
Anzac Day Thursday, 25 April Friday, 25 April Saturday, 25 April
Queen's Birthday Monday, 10 June Monday, 9 June Monday, 8 June
Royal Queensland Show Wednesday, 14 August Wednesday, 13 August Wednesday, 12 August
Labour Day Monday, 7 October Monday, 6 October Monday, 5 October
Christmas Day Wednesday, 25 December Thursday, 25 December Friday, 25 December
Boxing Day Thursday, 26 December Friday, 26 December Saturday, 26 December Monday, 28 December

Types Of Visas

Immigration Info

Australian History

Facebook Twitter Google+