Home » Sports » Multi Sports Events » Commonwealth Games Closing Ceremony

Commonwealth Games Closing Ceremony

Athletics Sports Badminton Sports Boxing Sports Cycling Sports Diving Sports Gymnastics Sports Hockey Sports Judo Sports Lawn Balls Sports Netballs Sports Rugby Sports Shooting Sports Squash Sports Swimming Sports Table Tennis Sports Triathlon Sports Weight Lifting Sports Wrestling Sports
Commonwealth Games 2014 - Glasgow, Scotland
Commonwealth Games Opening Ceremony 2014 Commonwealth Games Closing Ceremony 2014 Commonwealth Games Mascot 2014
Commonwealth Games Queen's Baton Relay 2014 Commonwealth Games Host Nations 2014 Commonwealth Games Results 2014
Commonwealth Games Medal Table 2014 Commonwealth Games Tickets 2014 Commonwealth Games Events 2014
Para Sports at Commonwealth Games 2014 Commonwealth Games Sports 2014 Commonwealth Games Glasgow 2014
Commonwealth Games Participating Nations 2014 Commonwealth Games Venues 2014  


The first Commonwealth Games event was held in 1930. Played in every four year, the game was then called as the British Empire Games. In 1942 and 1946, the event could not take place due to World War II.  In 1950, the games were revived and in 1954 the game was played with a new name the British Empire and Commonwealth Games.

Six teams, Australia, Canada, England, New Zealand, Scotland and Wales, have attended every Commonwealth Games, Australia being the highest scoring team. After Olympic Games and Asian Games, Commonwealth Games is the third biggest multi-sport game played worldwide. Currently, there are 53 countries have been granted membership and 70 teams are participating in the Commonwealth Games.


The Commonwealth Games Federation has approved 21 types of sports and additional seven para-sports to be played in the Commonwealth Games.   

Opening ceremony includes:

  • Game’s opening
  • Parade of Commonwealth Game nations
  • The Queen’s Baton Relay
  • Welcome of athletes participating in Commonwealth Game

The Commonwealth Game flag is handed over to the host of next edition amidst a celebratory atmosphere in closing ceremony.


The venue of 2014 Commonwealth Game is Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom. The XX Commonwealth Game will start on 23rd of July with a grand opening ceremony and the closing ceremony will be held, after 11 days, on 3rd August.

The festive closing ceremony will be held at famous Hampden Park of Glasgow. It is the time when people of Glasgow as well as the athletes will rejoice their success.