Home » Travel » Australian Aviation » Sunstate Airlines

Sunstate Airlines

History and Foundation

The Sunstate Airlines is a subsidiary of Qantas, an Australian flag carrier. This airline company flies under the QuantasLink banner. The Sunstate Airlines operates several regional flights across Queensland. The airline company was established in 1981. It was merged with Noosa Air in 1983. In the year 1986, the airline company purchased a share in the Murray Valley Airlines.

The following year, Sunstate Airlines has acquired Air Queensland. The acquisition has expanded the route territory of the airline company. Right after Australian Airlines purchased one-third of the total shares of the airline in 1989, Australian Airlines has become its outright owner. In 2001, together with other Australian airlines, Sunstate was rebranded under the QuantasLink banner. Presently, Sunstate Airlines continues to provide exceptional aviation services to passengers between 23 different destinations across Australia.

Destinations and Hubs

The Sunstate Airlines ferries airline passengers to 23 destinations. These destinations include the Barcaldine, Biloela, Bundaberg, Cairns, Blackall, Blackwater, Canberra, Emerald, Gladstone, Charlesville, Hervey Bay, Longreach, Mackay, Newcastle, Lord Howe Island, Rockhampton, Townsville, Hamilton Island, Roma, Horn Island, Weipa, Geraldton, Perth, Cloncurry, Mount Isa, and Exmouth. Sunstate Airlines’s main hub is at Brisbane Airport. Its secondary hub is Cairns Airport.

Fleet Information

Sunstate Airline has 30 Bombardier Dash 8 Q400 Aircrafts.

Facebook Twitter