Home » Travel »Tasmania



Tasmania is the southernmost state of Australia. It is located approximately 150 miles from Australia’s mainland. There are many attractions, tours, and things to see all over the island. There are five major territories in Tasmania. Hobart is Australia’s capital city and is located on the Southeastern part of the island. Launceston, Tamar, and The North are in the North Central part of the Island. There is also the West Coast, North West Coast, and the Western wilderness.

If you happen to be in Hobart on a Saturday, you could stop in at the Salamanca market which is highly regarded for its’ food, culture, and art. Several artisans, food, and clothing vendors gather at the Salamanca market. You could also visit MONA (Museum of Old and New Art), which has exhibits including antiques, Egyptian mummies, and contemporary art. On the West coast, you can visit the island of Maria, a national park that is completely free of vehicles. When visiting Launceston, Tamar, and the North you can head over to J. Boag and Son Brewery for a tour of some of the best beer in the area. You could also visit one of the many lavender plantations in the area. If you happen to visit the North West Coast you should definitely stop by Latrobe where you can watch truffles being hand-rolled. If you find yourself in the Western Wilderness of Tasmania you should be sure to stop by the West Coast Pioneers Memorial Museum that holds photo’s dedicated to the West Coast miners.

There is plenty to see and do all over Tasmania, and what is listed here are only a few of the many destinations offered. Finding a location that offers so many attractions in such close proximity is very exciting and unusual.

Coordinates 42°S 147°E
Capital city Hobart
Demonym Tasmanian, Taswegian (colloquial)
Government Constitutional monarchy
 Governor Peter Underwood
 Premier Lara Giddings (ALP)
Australian State
 Established as Van Diemen's Land 1825
 Responsible government as Tasmania 1856
 Became state 1901
 Australia Act 3 March 1986
 Total 90,758 km² 35,042 sq mi
 Land 68,401 km² 26,410 sq mi
 Water 22,357 km² (24.63%) 8,632 sq mi
Population (End of March 2012)
 Population 512,000
 Density 7.24/km² 18.8 /sq mi
 Highest point Mount Ossa 1,617 m (5,305 ft)
 Postcode Range 7000—7799, 7800—7999 (LVRs and PO Boxes only)
Gross State Product (2009–10)
 Product ($m) $22,341
 Product per capita $44,011
Time zone(s) UTC+10 (AEST), UTC+11 (AEDT)
Federal Representation
 House seats 5/150
 Senate seats 12/76
 Postal TAS
 ISO 3166-2 AU-TAS
 Floral Tasmanian Blue Gum (Eucalyptus globulus)
 Animal Tasmanian devil (unofficial) (Sarcophilus harrisii)
 Bird Yellow Wattlebird (unofficial) (Anthochaera paradoxa)
 Mineral or Gemstone Crocoite (PbCrO4)
 Colours Dark green, red & gold
Website www.tas.gov.au
Map Western-Australia Northern-Territory Queensland New-South-Wales Victoria-Australia Tasmania-Australia South-Australia
Facebook Twitter