Home » Sports » Tennis » Australian Open Golf History

Australian Open Golf History

Australian Open Golf History
Emirates Australian Open Golf
Australian Open Golf History Australian Open Golf Past Winners Australian Open Golf Sponsors
Australian Open Golf Scores Emirates Australian Open  


The Australian Open is the chief yearly golf competition on the PGA Tour of Australasia. The competition is additionally piece of the Oneasia Tour which was framed in 2009. The Open was initially played in 1904 and happens around the end of every year.

The competition is claimed and run by Golf Australia and is one of the "national opens" having an uncommon status in the Official World Golf Ranking's focuses framework. This status recompenses a base 32 focuses to the victor paying little mind to the quality of the field. The champ of the competition gets the Stonehaven Cup.

The prize cash is viewed as unobtrusive when contrasted with competitions on the PGA Tour and the European Tour, however the Australian Open's position is one of the conventional golf powers. Its move of honor for the years between the mid-1950s to the late 1980s incorporates a significant number of the most recognized universal golfers, including a few Americans.

As of late the greater part of competition victors have been Australians, however golfers from the United States and South Africa have likewise won. England's Lee Westwood and Northern Ireland's Rory Mcilroy are the main European golfers to have won the competition.


Emirates Australian Open
Emirates Australian Open Golf
Tournament information -

The 2019 Australian Open will be played from 5-8 December at The Australian Golf Club.

Location Sydney, Australia (2019)   Tour(s) PGA Tour of Australasia OneAsia Tour
Established 1904   Format Stroke play
Course(s) The Australian Golf Club (2019)   Prize fund A$1,020,000
Par 71   Month played December
Length 6,938 yards      
Tournament record score
Aggregate 264 Gary Player (1965)   To par -28 Gary Player (1965)
Current champion
Abraham Ancer