Home » Sports » Basketball » NBL Season

NBL Season

NBL Season

The National conference is considered one in every of the premier basketball leagues within the world, and once a humble starting, is nowadays home to a number of the world's best players.

In 1978, New South Wales Basketball president John Raschke Sat with ten interested parties in associate degree unused craft airdock at state capital field to debate the formation of a national competition that may facilitate the event of the game throughout Australia.

A national competition was additionally seen as some way of up the quality of players World Health Organization would contend for Australia at events like the Olympic Games and World Championships.

Since that day, the NBL has fully grown from a fledgling competition with games contend ahead of simply a number of hundred individuals to a league that draws over 750,000 spectators every season, likewise as prime-time tv audiences for games broadcast nationwide.

While games were at the start contend in tiny residential area stadiums, clubs currently perform at major Australian arenas, together with state capital Arena which might sear fourteen,000+ spectators.

Basketball additionally has one in every of the best participation rates of any athletics in Australia, with numbers continued to grow annually.

Between 1979 and 1997, the NBL season was contend between Gregorian calendar month and Sept, however in 1998 the league captive its season to the summer place, with games contend between October and Gregorian calendar month.

Eight groups presently contend within the NBL - the state capital 36ers, Cairns Taipans, Melbourne Tigers, New Sjaelland Breakers, state capital Wildcats, state capital Kings, Townsville Crocodiles and Wollongong Hawks.

Of these clubs, Wollongong competed within the initial NBL season in 1979, aboard the St Kilda Saints, Nunawading Spectres, West state capital Bearcats, town of state capital Astronauts, port Falcons, capital of Australia Cannons, Bankstown Bruins, and Glenelg Tigers.

National Basketball League in Australia
NBL Season NBL Fixtures & Results NBL Full Ladder
NBL Clubs NBL Venues NBL All Time Records
NBL Past Champions NBL Hall of Fame NBL Awards


National Basketball League 2013-14
Sport Basketball
Founded 1979
Commissioner Fraser Neill
Inaugural season 1979
No. of teams 8
  • Australia (7 teams)
  • New Zealand (1 team)
Continent FIBA Oceania (Oceania)
Most recent champion(s) New Zealand Breakers (3rd title)
Most titles Perth Wildcats (5 titles)
TV partner(s) Network Ten & One Sky Sport
Sponsor(s) iiNet
Related competitions
  • Australian Basketball Association
  • New Zealand National Basketball League
  • State Basketball League
Level on pyramid 1


Club Location Home Venue Capacity Founded Years Active
Adelaide 36ers Adelaide, South Australia Adelaide Arena 8,000 1982 1982–
Cairns Taipans Cairns, Queensland Cairns Convention Centre 5,300 1999 1999–
Melbourne Tigers Melbourne, Victoria Hisense Arena State Netball and Hockey Centre 10,500 3,500 1931 1984–
New Zealand Breakers Auckland, New Zealand Vector Arena North Shore Events Centre 9,300 4,400 2003 2003–
Perth Wildcats Perth, Western Australia Perth Arena 14,846 1982 1982–
Sydney Kings Sydney, New South Wales Sydney Entertainment Centre State Sports Centre* 10,517 5,006 1988 1988–2008, 2010–
Townsville Crocodiles Townsville, Queensland Townsville Entertainment Centre 5,257 1993 1993–
Wollongong Hawks Wollongong, New South Wales WIN Entertainment Centre 6,000 1979 1979–