Home » Sports » Formula 1

Formula 1


Australian Formula one (AF1) was a motor sport class for open-wheeler sport cars that was current in Australia from 1970 to 1983.

AF1 was hosted by the Federation of Australian Motor Sport in 1970, at first proscribing cars to unsupercharged engines of no bigger than a pair of.5-litre capability, running on business fuel. AF1 was basically a replacement name for the Australian National Formula that had been Australia’s premier sport class from 1964 to 1969.

Effective twenty three February 1971, AF1 was modified to a two-part formula line for sport cars fitted with 5.0-litre production based mostly pushrod V8 engines (internationally called Formula 5000 cars) and people fitted with less restricted unsupercharged engines of eight cylinders or less and up to 5000 cc in capability. The small engine possibility was discontinued after 1976. The most engines used were Chevrolet and Repco-Holden V8's, sometimes a Ford V8 was seen in action while not success.

In March 1979 Formula aggressive cars used only 1.6-litre production based four cylinder engines which suitable for Australian Formula 1 aboard the prevailing 5.0-litre cars and 1980 saw the addition of 3.0-litre FIA Formula One cars to the combo. For 1982, Australian Formula one was limited to Formula Pacific cars solely. In 1983 CAMS adopted Formula Mondial as a new Australian Formula one hover who allowed cars yielding with Formula Pacific to view aboard the new cars for that year (Formula Mondial was associate FIA approved international formula terribly kind of like Formula Pacific however with cars restricted to exploitation the one.6-litre Ford Cosworth BDA four-cylinder engine.) For 1984 CAMS modified the class name from “Australian Formula 1” to “Formula Mondial”.

The Australian Drivers' Championship (for the CAMS Gold Star award) was receptive drivers of AF1 cars throughout the lifetime of the formula, i.e. from 1970 to 1983. Throughout those years the term Australian Formula one Championship was typically employed in position of Australian Drivers Championship but the latter is employed by the Confederation of Australian Motor Sport in its official records of the championship.

The Australian automobile race was contested  by AF1 cars throughout the years 1970 to 1983 comprehensive, though the 1970 event conjointly permissible Formula 5000 cars and also the 1981 race was restricted to cars yielding with the Formula Pacific section of AF1.

Australian Grand Prix

Facebook Twitter