Home » About the Citizenship » Scholarships in Australia » Australia Awards Fellowships

Australia Awards Fellowships

The Australia Awards are prestigious international that are rewarded on merit-basis to deserving candidates from participating countries. The awards are funded by the Australian Government and aim at building strong links between participating countries and Australia. The Australia Awards Fellowships are a sub-section of Australia Awards.
The Australia Leadership Awards Fellowship are now known as Australia Awards Fellowship. The Fellowship aims to enhance leadership skills and build partnerships between Australian organization and partner organization of the developing countries from the Latin America, Caribbean, Middle East, Africa and Asia-Pacific region.
The chief idea of the Australia Awards Fellowships is to develop and build-upon aspirant leaders in precedence fields, who, eventually, will be in a situation to move forward important regional strategy objectives and boost institutional capabilities of participating countries. The program is designed to balance individual bilateral country programs by offering flexible learning prospects that deal with current and emergent needs at the country.
The Fellowships do not award any academic qualifications but provide sort-term study, research and professional development opportunities in Australia, delivered by local organizations. The idea is to address priority regional development issues and linkages between Australian and partner organizations in developing countries. 
The Australian Awards Fellowship supports a wide range of sectors including priority areas like economic growth, disability development, food security, gender, environment, education, governance, human rights, health, regional stability, water, sanitation, infrastructure and rural development.
Through the Australia Awards Fellowship, Australian organization can apply for funding to support the above mentioned range of professional development activities that will enhance and build upon leadership qualities of individuals from participating countries.
Award Conditions:
  • Applications are constrained to Australian business organization and individual persons cannot apply.
  • Moreover, only organizations that demonstrate ongoing linkages with overseas organization in eligible countries can apply. These include NGOs, research organizations, academic institutions, media, industry, business, government agencies and professional associations.
  • The organizations can apply for the Fellowship funding through competitive grant process.
  • Overseas organizations must be sponsored by Australian organizations and may not directly apply for the Australia Awards Fellowship.
  • Applicant organizations must submit a detailed online application form along with a detailed and accurate budget proposal and a resume of each nominated fellow.  
  • The application process varies according to your country of citizenship. To be eligible for any of the Australian Awards Fellowships organization must meet AusAID's general eligibility criterion, as well as the precise eligibility norms set by the Government of each contributing country. 

Since the 1950s Australia Awards Scholarships/ AAS scholarships/ AusAID Scholarships, formerly known as Australian Development Scholarships (ADS), has been part of the Australian government's overseas aid program.   

The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade serves as the administer of these long term development awards to assist people from developing countries in pursuing full time undergraduate or postgraduate courses at selected TAFE institutions (Australian universities and Technical and Further Education institutions).

Students can use the skills and knowledge acquired in Australia for the development of their own country.

Australia Awards Scholarships remain in effect until the minimum period necessary for the completion of the academic program specified by the respective Australian institution.

AAS scholarships cover;

  • Full tuition fees
  • Economy class airfare to and from Australia
  • Establishment allowance
  • Living Expenses
  • Introductory Academic Program (IAP)
  • Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC)
  • Pre-course English (PCE) fees
  • Supplementary Academic Support
  • Fieldwork (for research students)

The following conditions apply for the Australia Awards Scholarships!

Students are bound to comply all the terms and conditions mentioned in the contract to be signed with the Commonwealth of Australia.

Awardees should leave Australia within two years after the completion of their scholarship. In case the awardees fail to do so, he/she will be liable for a debt for the total cost of scholarship received.

Students admitted to the following faculties would be awarded AAS scholarships.

  • Curtin Business School
  • Health Sciences
  • Humanities
  • Science & Engineering

Facebook Twitter